Main Content

Graduate Awards & Scholarships

The Women and Gender Studies Graduate Research Award is given annually to a graduate student pursuing the women and gender studies certificate. The Award is meant to recognize excellence in graduate research and to support future scholarship in issues of women and gender.

Award: $500
Eligibility: Graduate students from Texas Christian University or Brite Divinity School currently pursuing the Women and Gender Studies Certificate are eligible to apply.

Deadline: March 31, 2023

To Apply:
Applicants will submit the following:

  1. Cover letter, outlining scholarly achievements (GPA; publications; professional presentations; and departmental, university, or professional awards, for example) and academic/career goals.
  2. A narrative of your current research, no more than two pages (1,000 words), including how you might use the award (i.e., to support travel to conduct research or present findings at a conference. NOTE: this is not a grant and you are not obligated to document your use of the prize money! ). Include relevant information about your methods, theoretical grounding, and/or the role of WGSS in your research.
  3. Application form, including signatures of your director of graduate studies and department or program chair, indicating your good standing in the program
  4. Curriculum Vitae

Criteria and Judging: Applications will be evaluated by the WGST Awards Committee. The award will be granted based on the excellence of the student’s academic record, clarity of future goals, and the merit of the proposed research.

The winner will be announced at the annual WGST Garden Party in the spring. Submit your materials to

Current Graduate Award Winner

2023 Graduate Research Award Winner, Ruba Akkad (with Dr. Ariane Balizet at the 2023 Garden Party)

2023 Graduate Research Award Winner, Ruba Akkad (with Dr. Ariane Balizet at the 2023 Garden Party)

Previous Graduate Award Winners

2023: Ruba Akkad, (English) “Occupied Joy: Resistance, Survival, and Healing in Black and Palestinian Liberation Struggles.”
2022: Meagan Solomon, (English) “Homointimate Friendship and Queer Possibility in Ana Castillo’s The Mixquiahuala Letters”
2021: Jonathan Pangelinan Cabrera (Brite), “Fuetsan Pålao`an / Schóóbwut Maamaaw: s/Pacific Feminisms”
2020: Christina Bryant (Brite), “Domestic Violence and Paul’s First Letter to the Corinthians”
2019: Kaylee Henderson (English), “Words of Mass Destruction: Verbal Militancy in 19-Century Women’s Political Writing”
2018: Sofia Huggins (English)
2017: Meta Henty (English)
2016: Angela Moore (English)
2015: Kassia Waggoner (English)
2014: Carrie Tippen
2013: Sarah McNeely