Main Content

Faculty/Staff Awards & Scholarships

The Jean Giles-Sims Wise Woman Award is presented to the faculty member who best exemplifies the principles of Women and Gender Studies and helps to further the interests of women at TCU. The award recognizes faculty contributions both inside and outside of the classroom. Any faculty member who teaches a WGST-attribute course during the current academic year is eligible to be nominated for the award, however, award recipients from previous years are not eligible for subsequent nominations.

Procedure: The WGST Awards Committee solicits nominations for the award in Spring semesters. Any student enrolled in a WGST class (undergraduate or graduate) in summer, fall, or spring semesters of a given academic year may nominate a candidate. Once all nominations are in, a survey will be sent out to all students in the WGST program to vote for a winner based on the nominating statements of the students in their classes. The winner is announced at the annual Garden Party.

Current Winner

2017-2018: Margaret Lowry
Dr. Lowry is Lecturer for the Women & Gender Studies Program and has taught the Introductory course numerous times, has mentored graduate student co-teachers, and has helped coordinate the WGST Internship program. The WGST program is proud to call Margaret Lowry the new Wise Woman Award winner. Below is just one of ten nominating statements from her students.
Dr. Lowry is the reason I am proud to be a feminist. Not only has she introduced me to all the great theorists and ideas, but she is actively working to find internships for the students in the WGST program, myself included.

Previous Winners

2017-18: Rima Abunasser
2016-17Jacqueline Lambiase
2015-16: Hanan Hammad
2014-15: Layne Craig
2013-14: Ariane Balizet & Carrie Leverenz
2012-13: Elizabeth Flowers
2011-12: Rebecca Sharpless
2010-11: Lisa Vanderlinden
2009-10: Theresa Gaul
2008-09: Bonnie Blackwell
2007-08: Karen Steele

The WGST Research and Creative Activity Award is a one-year honorary appointment that recognizes excellence in scholarship and creative activity on women and gender by an affiliated faculty member in Women and Gender Studies at TCU. During the academic year of the award, the award recipient normally presents one public lecture on the scholarship or creative activity recognized by the award and leads one program to encourage research and creative activity on topics related to women and gender.

Current Winner

The 2017-2018 Winner of the Faculty Research and Creative Activity Award, Dr. Charlotte Hogg.

This year’s recipient of the Faculty Research and Creative Activity Award is Associate Professor of English Dr. Charlotte Hogg. In partial fulfillment of the award, Dr. Hogg gave a public lecture titled “Sorority Rhetorics: Heritage, History, & Sisterhood.” In a packed BLUU Ballroom with nearly 200 attendees, Dr. Hogg shared her research into the ways sororities at the national and local levels create and maintain bonds through shared history and narratives.


Previous Winners

2016-2017: Francyne Huckaby (Education)
2015: Babette Bohn (Art History)
2014: Jeannine Gailey (Sociology)
2013: Amy Freund (Art History)